Rift Valley Region: Top 5 Places to Visit

Rift Valley Region is famed for Agriculture and Athletics. Besides the latter, Great geographical features in the region offer great attraction sites including the Great Rift Valley. The region is divided into 14 counties which include: Turkana, West Pokot, Samburu, Trans Nzoia, Uasin Gishu, Elgoyo-Marakwet, Nandi, Baringo, Laikipia, Nakuru, Narok, Kajiado, Kericho, and Bomet.

The Rift Valley region is important since it offers visitors places to Hike, Bird watching, take photographs, and see the escarpments and geysers. Travelers can also visit local community farms, and experience the best of nature.

The Top 5 places to visit and things to see

#1 Lord Egerton castle: Tatton, Nakuru County

Lord Egerton Castle is a splendid architectural masterpiece that the British nobleman Lord Maurice Egerton of Tatton built between 1930 and 1940.

Several kilometers from Nakuru town, the majestic castle where Lord Egerton retreated in the final days of his life has 52 rooms, unfortified by the moat of the garrison.

#2 Kabarnet Museum: Kabarnet, Baringo County

Kabarnet Museum is located in the house previously occupied by the District Commissioner of Kabarnet. The main attractions in the Kabarnet Museum are the material culture of the local communities in the region.

These communities include Kipsigis, Nandi, Pokot, Keiyo/Marakwet, and Samburu.

The Museum is near Lake Baringo and is also surrounded by the beautiful scenery of Lake Bogoria, Lake Baringo, and the Tugen Hills.

#3 Tuluap-Sigis: Kericho County

Tuluap Sigis (Mount Blackett as the British used to call it) is a cultural site for the Kipsigis community people. It is a forested area surrounding Tuluap-Sigis Hill in Kipkelion measuring approximately three hundred and seventy-five hectares.

It is on this site that the Kipsigis community used to worship their God, Assis, and offer prayers for different purposes.

#4 Lanet Pre-Historic Site: Nakuru, Nakuru County

Lanet Pre-Historic site is an archeological excavation site that contains excavations of the most extensive works known in Kenya. It is located in Nakuru and covers an area of about 34 acres.

Close to this site is the Hyrax hill museum to be covered in part two of this series.

#5 Kapenguria Museum: Kapenguria, West Pokot County

It was officially opened in 1993. Kapenguria museum was dedicated to Kenya’s independence struggle. It is located in the building where the six founding fathers of the Republic of Kenya were detained for their struggle for independence.

The building which is located in Kapenguria town, in West Pokot County, was constructed with two prisons, the District commissioner’s House and a building that was used as a courtroom during the trial of the Kenyan Heroes.

What’s in the Museum?
  • The heroes’ cells and the Uhuru memorial library.
  • Newspapers and magazine articles about the Mau Mau movement. Exhibits of Kenya during the colonial era.
  • Cultural exhibits of the Cherangani and Pokot people.
  • Cultural materials from Western Kenya.

Featured Photo: Lord Egerton Castle by Lake Nakuru National Park.